Hello! This is Sara Hamilton writing to you from the Kent Island Scientific Station. I am a rising sophomore at Bowdoin College, and this summer I am working on a research project investigating the accumulation of red tide toxins in intertidal organisms. As we near the end of our summer on the Island, all of us are reflecting on the experiences we have gained here, and I’ve come to some important conclusions, including:

Favorite Moment: The first time I walked to South Hill by myself. I was so isolated from anything familiar, surrounded by the mighty Bay of Fundy on 3 sides. The only sounds were gull cries, water crashing and the sound of my own heartbeat. I played in and amongst the deep cliffs there and it truly felt like I was stranded on a deserted island, eons away from any of humanity. It was such a surreal moment.

Favorite Kent Island Bird: Petrels. They are such unique birds, from their gentle purring to their subterranean burrows to their faithful monogamy.

Best new skill: Learning the Canadian anthem

Thing I miss most about home: Thunderstorms. We get fog and bright sun here, but not much else. I miss the dramatic summer storms we get back home in Virginia.

Thing I will miss about the island most: Living in the present. Our lives back home are hectic (and that’s putting it lightly), running around from one meeting to the next, worrying about term papers, trying to figure out how to apply for study abroad. On the island though, we have so few distractions. Your life settles into an easy pace set by the routine of the sun and the tides, and you find yourself spending much of your time contemplating the feeling of the soft grass beneath your feet.

Biggest Revelation: I think I’m falling in love with field biology. Between drinking in golden sunshine all day, being surrounded by curious and adventurous people, and traveling to awe-inspiring places, this summer has really cemented in my mind that ecological research is the place for me.

Cailey’s Most Delicious Dessert: Lemon squares….although the cardamom coffee cake was out of this world.

My project is coming to an end, we are beginning to say goodbye to new friends and I’m taking as many pictures as possible to try to keep all these amazing adventures fresh in my mind forever.

Prey for Fog,

Sara




Leave a Reply.

    Daily Updates

    will include anecdotes, recipes, and photos.