Island Kitchen’s time is coming to a close!

As we wind down the season, researchers are finishing their projects, writers are adding the final touches to their stories and essays, and Emily, our documentarian, is wrapping up her footage collection.

We’re cleaning our working and living spaces, packing our things, and taking last hikes to our favorite spots on the island and beyond- we have a trip planned to Sheep Island at the 0.0 low tide on Wednesday morning, for example.

The summer has been a fantastic experience of immeasurable worth to all of us, and we’ve had a great time living and working together, even though things weren’t always perfect.

Time, as I’ve said before, moves strangely on Kent Island. For a while it seemed as if the summer would never end, and towards the middle of the season it sometimes felt like we’d been here forever. Afternoons can drag on and weeks can feel like months, but now looking back on the summer it seems like it’s gone by in a flash.

In these last few days (the Bowdoin/Kenyon crew departs on Saturday morning) as we prepare to leave Jesse and Kathryn to their research on the island, I’ll keep taking photos and perhaps I’ll be able to upload a few, if time and internet signal strength allow it. 

I’ve decided that this will be my last season here, so the end of the season marks the end of what feels like something bigger than a summer job to me.

I’ll miss this amazing place and I hope to return someday.

Thanks for reading!

Alison
7/22/2013 08:41:55 am

I have so enjoyed getting to 'know' you through your blog. It has kept me in touch with Charlotte (daughter) whose 2nd letter to us seems to have been lost in the mail. You are a wonderful writer and I am sad to learn you won't be back, because clearly you have been like the mother in the kitchen -- perhaps I can relate to that feeling of good-bye a bit too strongly...
Your food, images and writing all look (and I am sure taste) amazing.
But most importantly, you seem like a really nice person! I wish you all the best in your future. You have many talents and I am sure you will have many choices to go along with them. (And many friends who owe you a lot of comfort food).
Thanks to you for feeding & teaching my daughter, too. I am sure your mom can't wait to see you!
-Alison

Reply
Cutler
7/25/2013 02:33:34 am

Good job Bug. See you soon.

Reply
Janie
7/25/2013 11:20:15 am


Thank you for sharing your recipes, pictures and wonderful writing about life on Kent Island. We are all in awe with your organization and energy, you made it all look so easy!
Warm Regards,
The McMahon family an

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Daily Updates

    will include anecdotes, recipes, and photos.